Reawakening the Ol’ Thighs

So, after a few days of recuperating, I’d planned a trip to the M for yesterday, but the day dawned cold and misty and it just didn’t strike me as a day for walking.  Today, however, brought perfect weather and it was an easy decision to get ready, bundle up Mountain Dog and head off.  MD is suffering from an extreme hotspot and I thought getting her out on the trail would help divert her attention from her constant licking.

It’s amazing to me, how this trail still takes the wind out of me, at least for the first half.  I don’t understand the physiology of it, which I should since I have a MS.  But, I’m relieved when I get passed the start-out gasping phase and my physiology adjusts to what I need of it and walking becomes pleasant.

MD and I reached the M without getting lost and by taking the harder path near the top.    I met “Karen,” at the top, a fellow walker, who’d come up the steep path.  She said it was easier than the last part of the path I’d followed, so next time that’s the way I’m heading.  It’ll be a tough start, but maybe my physiology will get with it sooner.  We’ll see.

Karen wanted to take the longer pathway down so we said our goodbyes at the trail head to the shortcut I’d met a couple coming from, a couple of trips ago.  I wanted to give it a try, just for something different.  They’d mentioned that there was some rock scrambling to be done through the outcrop, but it didn’t sound onerous.  My thighs are not yet up to onerous.

The shortcut trail down – steeper than the regular route, but quite lovely through the trees.

After a pleasant way in the woods I came to the outcrop, which was, as expected, above me.  The trail was evident and I carried on, coming to the scrambling portion, or so I thought.  After just a bit of this the trail leads to a headland and then kind of drops down a rock face, and then continues.  The rock face posed a bit of a challenge for me…my old balance issue again.

One of the early scrambling sections…easy enough.  I have a lot of new-found confidence in my hiking boots and this was neither wet nor slippery, and there were enough secure steps.

That led to this, however…

…which was still okay.  It was just a little on-the-hind-end-scrambling down to the path.  The thing is, if someone asked me, I’d have said there was at least a fair bit of scrambling, and over a fairly steep section.  I have to remember that I’m now in the midst of people who do extreme things…this is not a walk on the prairie kind of place.

Looking back up at the scrambling section before rejoining the regular trail.  No harm done today, and lesson learned.

One hopes.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

