Skiing in my Hiking Boots

It was more like skiing than hiking on our latest hike to The M.  Now, a few days later, the snow’s gone, but a few days ago when we hiked, it was still fresh.  Fresh enough that in a few cases, we wondered whether the tracks we saw were those of dogs…or wolves…but we quickly agreed that they were dog tracks.  Of course.  No sense adding worry to worry…now that I’ve heard that cougars find the Bridgers habitat their cup of tea…and not to mention that bears are now looking for a few last tasty tidbits before cashing it in for their long snooze.  Mountain Dog, my fluffy white snack-size doggie, has no idea.

Mountain Dog, without a worry in the world, waiting for me and wondering what’s holding me up.  Jeff, my husband and hiking partner for this trek, has long since disappeared around the corner.

More of our snowy scenery for the day.  While I was slip-sliding my way along, three incredibly fit women jogged past me…going uphill.  I’m plodding along in, what a certain someone has referred to as my “Mt. Everest gear,” while these gals were in their jogging suits and runners.  No comment.

We didn’t hang around long at the M this trip.  It was cold once we stopped moving, and rather bleak.  The white M, covered in fresh snow, was there in outline only on this trip.

Perhaps our last glimpse at fall colours…pretty against the snow.

So, another good climb to the M.  My spiky cleats are now on my hiking boots until spring.  No jogging in those, but hopefully no skiing, either.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

