Another Gorgeous Day = Another Trip to The M

After a morning of running errands and, gasp, applying for a seasonal part-time job (egads…I may actually go to work), freshly washed and groomed MD and I hit the trail to The M.  We nearly turned off short at the entrance to the Drinking Horse trail, but we stayed the course, arriving at The M just after lunch.  It was an incredibly gorgeous day…warm with a perfectly cloud-free, intensely blue sky…a day meant for being outside and taking pictures.

Tons of walkers have travelled the path since my blizzard-like trek last time and snow on the path is well-packed.  It was interesting to see, though, that the path was mostly slush for the lower half, and then becomes packed higher up.  Guess the 850′ climb really is something.

What a blue sky!  The line that’s visible along the upper right in this image is the path, the slower-rise path, which is the way I go now with the snow making the trail slightly slippery.

Today’s view from The M…

…with clouds just beginning to show up over the Spanish Peaks to the south.  Tomorrow is supposed to be cloudy.  Doesn’t that look like a bison laying there, just below the top?  Hah!  It wasn’t.  Today’s paper had an interesting feature on hibernation.  The writer promised readers that black bears settled down for their long snooze by mid-October and that grizzlies have just settled in, in early November.  One less thought to consider now when I hear weird noises in the woods.

MD was in an odd mood today.  Must be related to her having been beautifully groomed yesterday.  She dragged along behind me to begin with, muttering under her breath about the slush she had to walk through, I think.  She put on the afterburners, though, once we hit the packed snow.  Just before we reached the top we met a walker with her golden retriever, which, she said, was frightened by little dogs.  MD took note of this and when we re-met them on the way down, the retriever circled way out of its way to avoid having to walk by MD, but MD was ready and she positioned herself to prevent the retriever from getting back on the trail. The retriever sat down and when we carried on and retriever just had to catch up with its owner, MD took off on the chase.  I’ve never seen this bullying side of our little bichon before…it was offensive.  Too bad the retriever didn’t just stop and look over its shoulder…MD might have reconsidered her attitude.

MD at the top….

…no trouble with her self confidence on this outing.  Must have been the excellent grooming by Bridger Dog Grooming.

I heard an unusual bird call while resting at the top.  I didn’t spot it the first time, but the second time it took flight just after it called.  It was brilliant white on its belly and the wingtips were black.  Sounds like perhaps the omnipresent magpie, and was about that size, but it had no discernible tail – not at all the long tail of the magpie.  After searching Google images for a bit, I think it might have been a shrike, although I’m not convinced.  The call just didn’t sound like that of a magpie, although their’s vary so much.  So, it shall remain a mystery bird.

A beautiful outing on a beautiful day…

Was there anywhere nicer today?

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

