A Dog’s Breakfast of Walks

The first in this list of four walks was our first aborted walk, ever.  My husband and I hit the trail to The M late in the day and the nanosecond that we took our first step on the trail, the weather turned from just cloudy and dull, to sleeting.  Mountain Dog was along and while the weather didn’t seem to dampen her spirits, we made it just over half-way before coming to our senses and turning around.  We met a walker coming down when we were about a quarter of the way up and I asked her to take my hat out of my pack for me…it was too miserable to take the time to struggle out of everything to get it myself.  My hat helped, but honestly, what was the point?  Sleet stings!  Coming back down I hastily took one photo with my iPhone to record the brutality of this weather…

IMG_0285

This just wasn’t a day for walking.  We did meet one other walker..a jogger, actually, who seemed to get to the bottom and start right back up, but we live among extreme outdoor enthusiasts.  Everyone has to find his or her own comfort level and mine, that day, was at home.

Mountain Dog, bless her heart, enjoyed her outing, but was miserable once home…

IMG_0287

…and after shedding our wet gear, I gathered her up and gave her a deliciously warm bath.  She was much happier.  ‘Nough said about that walk.

On to a brighter day, my husband and younger daughter joined me for a walk on the Drinking Horse trail.  This was in the walking weather we’ve all come to love here in Montana…crisp temperatures in the sunshine.  I’ve had some trouble with my photos from this walk, but I’ll post a couple once that techno-glitch is solved.

Then it was back to The M, with our elder daughter joining us, as she’s home for Christmas break from her last year of university.

IMG_0329

Sara’s the one with the great balance.  If I’d known what was on the other side of this outcrop (thin air), I’d have had a fit, but as I steer clear of balance-challenging situations (except by mistake – see my earlier post, “Compelled”) I believed there was more rock.

With Emma, our youngest, a Senior this year, we thought we’d try taking her senior pictures here…

IMG_0336

She didn’t end up using any of her outdoor shots, but we had fun with it.

IMG_0330

…and one of me…safely seated…IMG_0332

After this, it was onward to the top of The M for a brief rest, before heading back down to all the day had waiting.

IMG_0338

Which brings me to today, another perfect day for walking.  We’ve had about 4″ of snow, but today was calm and lovely…about 15 degrees…and perfect for a good walk.

Jeff was my walking partner…

IMG_0349

…along the barely-trodden path.  This was an exceptionally pleasant hike for me.  I’m not sure why.  I think we’d walked more quickly as a family on the previous hike, but today I walked at my own pace, which I think is about two mph in this type of terrain.  Anyway, between walking slowly and stopping often for pictures, the walk was easier than last time.

A little fall colour is still visible…

IMG_0350

…and the contrast between the blue sky and white snow is as exquisite as ever…

IMG_0351

After a rest at the top, we walked down pretty briskly (the Vikings game was calling to Jeff), with just a few photos of our irresistible Montana sky…

IMG_0362

…and I loved the individual collections of snow that each shrubby branch seemed to have gathered…

IMG_0369

IMG_0365

I like the effect of the clouds coming over the top of the snow-capped tree.  How did that one tree manage to collect so much snow?

And, a familiar image on this path, but now so stark in winter…

IMG_0367

Heading home…

IMG_0370

I’ve walked this trail in summery sunshine, after rain when the path was not much more than slippery mud, in a blizzard, in sleet and now in fresh fallen snow.  I think we’re friends.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Dog’s Breakfast of Walks

  1. linhartb says:

    The snow is beautiful! The one bush looks like it has cotton balls on it!

  2. Thanks! Yes, our snow is most welcome!

  3. henrymowry says:

    You are the 100th follower of my blog! I would like to send you a small present … a photo or our own cookbook, your choice! Please email your address to hmowry@ca.rr.com. And you have a wonderful blog going here!

Leave a Reply

