Christmas Day Walk and a Few Others

So, you may be wondering why my posts are of so many walks to the same spots…The M or Drinking Horse trail, and occasionally, elsewhere.

All this walking is part of my preparation for another long-distance walk, planned for summer of 2014.  As much as I enjoyed my West Highland Way walk of 2010, it was a hard walk, mainly because I’d prepped by walking on the prairie, where we were living, which didn’t quite give me what was needed for Highland walking.  This time, I’m determined to be better prepared and living now with easy access to mountain walking, I should be able to meet that goal.

So, Christmas Day saw us return to The M, with MD in her full winter walking gear…

IMG_0447

It’s hard to tell when the combination of temperature and snow makes it too cold for her to walk bare-footed, but on this day, she needed her booties.  We tried taking them off so she could have more grip on the way down, but she soon started holding up a foot along the way, so back on they went.  She seems to get why we strap them on as she no longer spends time trying to fling them off, but just gets on with the business of walking.

It was a good walk, and all the family relaxed at the top…

IMG_0455

The next day I just didn’t feel like walking that route again, although Jeff and Sara took and astonished me by reaching the top in a mere 30 minutes.  MD marched along with them, but she showed signs of weariness when she later joined me for an amble around the back forty.  The creek is still running in places, making for nice winter scenery.

IMG_0462

We returned to The M yesterday, with Sara, aka The Strider, leading the pack.  She and Jeff took off as if on a mission, with me telling them to go on ahead and I’d meet them at the top.  Name The Ambler in our group, I often stop for photos (well-disguised rest stops!) and this day, this group of snow-covered burdock caught my eye…

IMG_0464

as did this winter scene…

IMG_0468

We’d gone so early in the day that not many had walked the trail before us, and in places our footsteps were the first…

IMG_0466

It was an overcast day, really lacking in that beautiful blue Montana sky, but being on the trail makes up for any shortcomings.  Heading home…

IMG_0470

Yesterday, we drove to Three Forks to have a look at the forks of the Madison and Jefferson Rivers and then on to a wonderful dinner at Pompei’s Grill, in the historic Sacacawea Hotel.  Beautiful skies over the forks…

IMG_0474

Is this beautiful country or what?

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Day Walk and a Few Others

  1. OMG I love the the booties MD wears, so cute! What you are doing is a great way to help get to a goal! I do some repeaters to help me get to the next hard hike too! Good Luck!

  2. Thanks! I’m so pleased that MD leaves her booties on. Thanks for your kind words and encouragement!

Leave a Reply

