Something Familiar and Something Different

So, we had one more walk before our eldest returned to university…this time back to Drinking Horse trail.  The day was a little grey and colder, encouraging us to move along on this 2.8 mile roundtrip route.

Once at the top (in a mere half-hour!) my family proved very helpful in indicating the way down…

IMG_0542

Thank goodness that one family member chose the correct route…

IMG_0543

We figured MD needed some grip on her way down and once we removed her ski booties she took off and raced between us all the way down.  That little hiker can move!

A last look up at the path before entering the woods…

IMG_0544

…and a couple shots of water in winter…

IMG_0545                                                    IMG_0547

Yesterday, our last day together before our eldest returned to university, we decided to try our skills at cross-country skiing…to moderate success.  We provided each other with great entertainment by one spectacular fall each.  That sure happens quickly!  Anyway, by the end of our day, we were looking alright…

IMG_0568

And, again, we were surrounded with spectacular scenery, whether viewed from upright or flat on our backs, so really…who could complain?

IMG_0573

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Something Familiar and Something Different

  1. We go walking too but not with this much beauty!!! Instead with my DeafBlind son in his stroller… But walk we do sometimes around town for about 2 hours… Much less in winter because of him…

  2. You have so much on your hands, but I hope that the sensations of the outdoors speak to your children, especially your challenged son, and bring a calming peace. Walking brings clarity to my thinking and many of my most important decisions have been made on the trail!

  3. sethsnap says:

    Looks like fun. Great photos. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

