Rambling On…

First, thanks to everyone who’s been stopping by my blog lately…its been fun to check out your blogs and read your captivating stories…whether told in words or pictures.  Everyone’s little corner of the world looks intriguing…what a community we have here!

Second, I had my first-ever flu shot today and while I feel perfectly fine, it was a bit traumatizing.  Injecting a dead virus to course through my veins is an temporarily-overwhelming concept.  I know, I know…I’ve had all the childhood vaccinations, but this was different…I was the one making the decision to sit down and have this done.  All the media about the severity of this year’s flu just wore me down.  I’m okay with all of this…really.  I’m just rambling…

Blah…enough on that.  I hit the ol’ M trail a few days ago, ahead of our blizzard, and enjoyed a good walk.  We’ve since received at least 6″ of fresh snow so the trail looks much different now,  but this was it as of then, well-trampled down…

IMG_0611

This is at the “corner” of one of the switchbacks of the steep route option of the easier route.  For some reason this day’s walk was a considerable workout for me.  Guess that’s part of the reason I return over and over to The M trail.  It’s still a good workout for this flu-shot-riddled-body.

Looking up from that corner…

IMG_0612

There’s a tree just around the next bend where I typically stop and lean for a minute, before thanking my aged friend and carrying on.

The Tobacco Roots in the distance, from The M that day…

IMG_0613

Coming back down this trio of tree trunks and branches caught my attention.  The words “Tree Art” popped to mind and I snapped this shot.

IMG_0614

Don’t they look like a group of old friends, just hanging around together? The straight branch on the right looks like it has an eye about halfway along, don’t you agree? Or, maybe that flu shot is making me delirious.

Images of beautiful tree art are over at “Sethsnap,” (a WordPress blog).  That’s real.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rambling On…

  1. Looks like what we have around here… Our two feet of snow pack disappeared or is melting due to unusually warm January and rain!!!!

  2. It’s all a new look around here now…we’ve had over six inches of fresh powder and today’s lovely sunshine. Maybe it’ll come your way!

Leave a Reply

