Musings on Minor Meanderings

Here’s a collection of four recent outings, albeit one by car.  I had reason to travel in and around mid-southern Montana earlier this week and although photography was not on my day’s agenda (it was all business), I took one photo along the way, showcasing the vastness of this state…

IMG_0638

Honestly, do you see a house anywhere?  One small town I drove through had a gutted building on its main street.  Most other buildings were empty.  I don’t know the history of that town well enough to understand whether the recession drove businesses away, but, well, there weren’t many left.  I stopped at the town’s coffee shop and enjoyed a delicious cuppa, but there weren’t many other ways to contribute to the town’s economy.

On the other hand, I did see a lot of wildlife throughout the day…a herd of about 20 antelope close to the highway (which I would have stopped to photograph if the road had had any amount of shoulder, what with a semi coming up behind me and all) and several smaller groups, a broad-winged hawk, a bald eagle, an unidentified bird of prey and several white-tailed deer and mule deer.

Later in the week my husband decided to go skiing at Bridger Bowl.  I went along, even though I no longer downhill ski, thinking that I’d walk the road up to the gate (where my post of September ’12 “Compelled” began).  There didn’t seem to be any signs of vehicular traffic, although I was passed by two resort snowmobiles.  It was a simple walk along the road…

IMG_0640

…up to the gate, where I stood for quite some time hoping to catch sight of Jeff in the chairlift, but was unsuccessful…

IMG_0641

The light was wrong for distinguishing jacket colours.  Eventually I headed back and came across this little guy.  Talk about optimistic…producing an impressive pine cone at this size!

IMG_0639

Then, at a break in the trees, I could see down to the parking lot…

IMG_0642

…which was cool and made me realize that I’d down some significant climbing.  Mostly, I sat on the deck of the lodge, watched the skiers and snowboarders, admired the scenery (remembering hiking to the top of the central peak in this shot) and knitted 🙂

IMG_0645

Fun afternoon!

Yesterday afternoon, late, Jeff and I finally had the chance to hit The M trail.  We managed to get to the top just as the sun was setting.  Here are a few photos of that outstanding sunset…

IMG_0658 IMG_0659 IMG_0660 IMG_0661

It was getting dark when we were coming down and a tish creepy, although I did stop for this photo of the moon over the trail…

IMG_0672

And, I loved the pink hue of the snow…

IMG_0673

I was ready for the end of this walk…a couple of guys coming down behind us were using a headlamp for light…it was dark enough that I’m sure that creatures of the night were beginning to think about hunting 🙂

And, today, back to Drinking Horse trail we went, again late in the afternoon.

Jeff, on the trail, enroute up…

IMG_0676

…and the beautiful scenery we walk in everyday around here…

IMG_0677

Again, we were treated to the pink snow of sunset…

IMG_0678

MD, as usual, was waaay ahead of me, but checked back to see that I was still coming along.  I was feeling the effect of the previous days’ hikes, but we still made good time, walking 1.4 miles in 30 minutes…

IMG_0680

Too bad you can’t see how gorgeous Indy looks now that she’s just been groomed.  She sees Ms. Lynne, at Bridger Dog Grooming, who does an excellent job with our little bichon.  Lynne’s a hoot to talk with and at this latest grooming, noted all of MD’s muscles, and said “she has a hind end to die for” 🙂

And, our lovely Gallatin Valley with the Tobacco Root range in the background, from the top of Drinking Horse trail…

IMG_0683

Four outings, each unique.  This is one fine state!

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman, Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Musings on Minor Meanderings

  1. linhartb says:

    Beautiful sunset pictures!

Leave a Reply

