Finally…some birds in them thar woods.

It seemed like a regular ol’ walk to The M today, with nothing too special going on.  MD was along, but as it was just she and I, she stayed at my heel….seems like she wants to keep her pack in view.

Cloudy at the top…IMG_0699

Still beautiful scenery, of course, and we’re lucky to not be included in the deep freeze that most of the continent is experiencing.  I was walking in my shirt sleeves.  Not too many people around today.  Just a quick walk up (walking at my natural pace, the climb of around 900′ took 37 minutes…not too bad and a vast improvement over the early days…yeah!), a brief rest at the top and then back down.

It was near the end of the trail that I heard the first non-Townsend Solitaire sound of the season.  I stopped and “phsssed” (birders will know what that is!) and out of a clump of shrubby branches came two red-breasted nuthatches.  Not uncommon, I suspect, but the woods have been so quiet all winter it was nice to hear and see them.  Also appearing along with the nuthatches were a few chickadees…I’ll go check on which they were…yeah!…Google images shows they were mountain chickadees which I’ve not seen up close before (us being recent transplants to this area).  They’ve been around, too…but today brought nice, close-up views.  And, with all that calling…maybe spring isn’t too far off.

And the sky brightened just a bit…

IMG_0701

Stay warm, everyone!

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman, Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

