Dragged My Cold-riddled Self to The M

I’d been wondering why I was lacking motivation for hitting the trails.  Finally, I understood…a cold was in-the-works.  Should have seen that coming as my husband suffered through one not long ago.  Anyway, I dragged myself outta the house and to The M.  It was later in the afternoon.  It took longer than usual to arrive at the top.  There could have birds chirping everywhere, but with all the huffing, puffing, and blowing my nose, it’d have to have been a stampeding herd of buffalo for me to hear it.

Oh, by the way, here’s a photo that belongs with my previous post…a photo of deer that can’t be seen…

IMG_0772

Well, if you look reallllly carefully you’ll notice some shapes to the left of the most left evergreen on the top of the hill.  That’s them.  White-tails.  They’re plentiful around here as they are in so many places.  I could probably get a closer photo along a roadside 🙂

Anyway, back to The M.. bit of clear sky, which we’ve been sorely lacking of late…

IMG_0780

It soon clouded over again, though…we’ve been under gray skies for such a long time.

The actual pathway is suffering with our roller coaster in temperatures.  The lower half is mucky and MD, with her tummy so close to the ground, is not happy with having to walk through the stuff.  After about half-way, the path is basically ice.  Once in the woods the path is mostly clear, so really, there are only a few stretches of slipping and sliding.

Four inches or so of ice do not a nice walking path make…

IMG_0783

Anyway, I reached the top without mishap and was treated to a nice setting sun…

IMG_0781

…and with the sun sinking I didn’t stay long.  However, a first for the season for me…there were two robins at the top!  Maybe, just maybe they’re a sign that winter is loosing its grip around here.

Not many people around, except enroute down I did hear voices.  I figured they were walkers on the steeper option of the easier trail, although they weren’t in sight.  As I got further down and rounded the outcrop, I heard the voices again and they turned out to be rock climbers, scaling up the outcrop.  Pretty cool, really.  It’s probably not much of a challenge for experienced climbers, but it looks like a great place to learn the skill.  The M trail really is a great, multi-purpose trail – it’s close to town, provides a good workout for walkers and runners, offers beautiful scenery, and now we can add rock climbing to its offerings.

Anyway, my plan to bust this cold out of here didn’t work as I’m still a sniffling disaster, but, well, it won’t last, but the beautiful scenery we’re surrounded with here will, so really, no complaints.

IMG_0784

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman, Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dragged My Cold-riddled Self to The M

  1. Lovely pictures. Good to hear about Montana hiking; I hail from Oregon, so also have a wonderful variety of landscapes to explore. Found your site noted on another. Good luck in your walking/ hiking, as well as blogging and stop by my blog sometime!

  2. Thank you for finding me! I’ll enjoy catching up with your blog…lots of good reading.

  3. way to get out when you aren’t feeling so well! The crud going around this year is a monster to get rid of, good luck!

  4. I have nominated you for a Very Inspirational Blogger Award because I have enjoyed your posts a lot so far. You have a great attitude to share. If you choose to accept the award, please see the rules attached to it on my post abut my own nomination. I now have a link to your post on my blog!

  5. walksandrambles says:

    Thank you very much! I really appreciate your kind words 🙂 I’ll tend to this soon…I’m enjoying a visit in Nova Scotia with my 91 year-old mum! Thank you for the link, too! I’ve had a few nice walks here and will things up soon. All the best to you!

Leave a Reply

