A Day’s Outing

Last weekend we were tempted to tackle the eight-mile route between The M and Sypes Canyon, but upon checking with people who know better and being told that there’s one climb, in particular, that probably isn’t yet passable, we opted to walk Bear Trap Canyon, a highly recommended and already-dry route.  And, what a glorious choice it turned out to be!

It’s not a difficult walk, with only a 500′ climb over 3.5 miles.  The path is along the Madison River as it runs through Bear Trap Canyon, so it’s an in-and-out on the same path for a total of 7 miles.  At the 3.5 mile mark there’s a campsite (rustic) and I think it’s okay to walk past this point, but this was our goal for the day.

We set out in late morning (Saturday mornings barely exist in my books).  MD came along, of course, although she did spend the next two days napping.  Those little legs were put to the test.

We signed in, which didn’t seem to be necessary, but we didn’t really know what we were getting into, so better safe-than-sorry.

IMG_0940

This area had a fire last July 4th, after someone had an accident with fireworks…

IMG_0939

…but the burned area didn’t reach very far into the canyon.

So, we set out..

IMG_0944

The path varied from easy-on-the-feet softness to making-you-stumble rolling rocks, but likely our stumbling was due more to our constant gawking at the beautiful Madison River we were walking along…

IMG_0962

…and at the mountainside on the other side of us…

IMG_0960

You probably realize that this is rattlesnake country, but of course, it’s still too early for those creatures to venture forth.  If MD only knew all the dangers out there for a close-to-the-ground-appetizer, I wonder if she’d be so keen and happy to come along?

IMG_0942

And, it’s also fly-fishing country and the Madison had attracted lots of fisher-enthusiasts this day…

IMG_0963

We arrived at the campsite just as we were beginning to feel weak from hunger.  Even MD was smiling about that…on the beach where we enjoyed lunch…

IMG_0973

Comfy seats for dining…

IMG_0979

And, I have to include this photo, which I took (guess that’s obvious!) because it makes me look like the garden gnome that pops up in those tv ads 🙂

IMG_0980

I had to make that one smaller…scared myself 🙂

I don’t think that MD realized that after she begged for half of my sandwich and other goodies that we were only halfway through our walk…she’s already looking tired (and very full)…

IMG_0982

The scenery was just as lovely in reverse on our way out…

IMG_0989

We had a few technical difficulties on this walk.  I’m not sure if they would occur anyway  or were due to the uneven terrain we covered.  Jeff dealt with a blister…I had my package of “Compeet” from my Scotland walk, which solved the problem for him.  I haven’t seen this product available locally…is anyone familiar with this blister treatment?  And my truly annoying heel pain reared its very unwelcome self on this walk.  This has got to go away.  It’s my biggest concern for my next long-distance walk, planned for 2014. I’ve tried everything known…any suggestions?

But, a truly lovely day and no sightings of early-rising rattlers to report.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman, Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Day’s Outing

  1. I so enjoyed your ramble–and found your photos very good. Thanks for sharing a couple of you and your partner (husband?), also, as often I miss seeing those blogged about. I love what I have seen of Montana when on trips in the past and this makes me want to head that way again. Looking forward to more!

  2. Thank you. Yes, my husband of many years! This is our first time living in the mountains and we’re enjoying all the walking opportunities. Beautiful scenery around every corner! Thanks for stopping by and for your kind comment!

  3. This hike looks like so much fun! I love your pictures! I wish I could give some advice on blisters but they are a problem for me too and I am so trying your compeed solution to see if it helps me in the future!

  4. Thanks…it was a good day. We’re tempted to go again, but like you, we have so many trails to choose from! Let me know how you do with the Compeed. Without going into the gory details, I was very thankful to have it!

  5. Jim Fetig says:

    Thanks for following A fork in the road. Your blog is very well written and entertaining I will enjoy following it as well. As to your heel pain. You may want to check in with a podiatrist. Sounds like possible plantar faciatis. I had it a couple of times during my competitive running days, and from my personal experience, it’s hard to get rid of.

    • Thank you! I enjoy your blog, too and stand in admiration of AT hikers. That was a dream of mine many years ago, but now I enjoy day/week outings. Yep, that heel pain was plantar faciatis, but mercifully, it’s gone, for the most part. The best advice I got for its treatment was from a Canadian doctor who said: “PF is self-limiting. Don’t jump off a bridge.” After every treatment available, just had to wait it out. All the best!

Leave a Reply

