Random Ramblings & MD on Top of the World

Even though tax prep season had me shackled to my desk, I tossed off the cuffs every once in awhile over the last couple of weeks to hit the trail.  This has mostly been a few trips to The M, where on a recent walk, MD and I sat at The M and watched a snow squall rolling in…IMG_1018

With Yellowstone National Park so close, we ventured over to the Boiling River natural hot springs, without Indy, of course.  For anyone not familiar with how this works (like me, prior to this experience), a hot spring bubbles up here beside a glacial river and the two mix, making it just lovely to relax in.  Sometimes it becomes reeeaaallly hot and other times too cold, but it changes within a few seconds.  Nice day.

IMG_1002

Of course, no visit to Yellowstone is complete without a close-up encounter with this mammoth dude…IMG_1008

I’ve had a few treks along the creek in the back 40, too and now it’s nearly ice-free.  It’s really lovely along here and the early spring birds are beginning to arrive.  The beaver dam is creating a deep pool…

IMG_1020

…which now has lots of trout (cutthroat?) skittering around.  This creek has lots of old car bodies dumped alongside it, which at first look seems disgusting, but we think they’re there to help stem erosion.  There are probably much better ways to do this, but this is what we’ve got.  No sign of the dippers at last visit, but maybe they’ve just become more secretive if their nesting has begun.  And, a male song sparrow was in full-strutting-his-stuff mode last time I passed by, perched in a tree and in full song, claimed that section of the creek as his territory for the season.  Other notables…lots of robins around now, lots of bald eagles migrating by, a chipmunk along the trail today, and at least one pair of Clark’s nutcrackers always flitting around along the steep M route.

MD had a real on Top of the World experience on today’s walk to The M, as we ventured up the steep path and she turned to wait for me…

IMG_1021

…shortly after which a university student coming down this way insisted on taking her picture.  She posed, of course, fully aware of how charming she was.  Then, needing some down time, she climbed the mountain of pillows and blankets we keep for her on our sofa and, for once, occupied herself with the more normal behaviour of a bichon.

IMG_1016

So, while there’s still snow in them thar hills, today was beautifully warm and sunny here in the Big Sky state…

IMG_1022

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman, Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Ramblings & MD on Top of the World

  1. A wonderful walk as usual! I especially enjoyed the snow squall, the springs and the buffalo…what a creature! Although I love OR. Montana is entrancing. (–My sister had a bichon for many years–lovely dog.)

  2. Thank you…I’d love to explore Oregon. Time will allow for that in a few years, hopefully. Yes, bichons are interesting creatures…we always had bigger dogs until this one. I’m a little concerned about her endurance…between it warming up here and her age, we may have to slip her in her kennel when we leave for our longer walks, meaning that we’ll come home to one disgruntled pooch. I admire your blog and work…so far from my self-indulgence 🙂

Leave a Reply

