(Almost) Back into the Land of the Living

All I can say is that our adopted home state must harbour an array of superbugs.  Before moving here I’d gone years without so much as a cold.  Since moving here a matter of months ago I’ve suffered (yes…suffered I say) through 2.5 colds.  And the half-cold isn’t isn’t convinced it wants to get the heck outta Dodge.

This last round of viral infection began four long weeks ago and that version turned into a disgusting cough.  I heard that “everyone” had a bad cough, so I figured that was par for the course.  Three weeks of coughing and hacking and being isolated even by my loving family, it was beginning to let up, but then, overnight, everything came roaring back with a vengeance (my mind’s so addled I’m writing in sayings).  I was desperate enough to grasp at straws, so I chowed down on Zicam.  I’d say that this over-the-counter helped, but it gave me a dreadful taste in my mouth…so much so that I had to stop.  Gag.  If this last bit of superbug doesn’t depart over the weekend I believe I’ll head to the doctor and request drugs.  The Big Boys.  Enough is enough.

In an effort to maintain some degree of fitness, yesterday Sara and I biked, with Indy riding in her basket.  She seems to really enjoy that, by the way….so much so that on the way back, when we reached the path where it’s safe for her to run, she kind of slumped down into the basket.  She managed to walk…but so slowly and pathetically that I picked her up and she went happily back into the basket.

The Back 40 creek is now running fast, with all the snow melt…IMG_1113

…it’s truly peaceful and beautiful there.  If I painted, I’d set up an easel here on a regular basis.  No dippers sighted.

And, today we walked….s…l…o…w…l…y to The M.  Peeps who started when we did passed us on their way back down when I was still creeping along.  Didn’t matter, though…I’m aware that we live in the land of extreme athletes. Wheeze, wheeze, wheeze.  I stop a lot while walking anyway and it’s at those times that I better notice what’s around me, like our brave, first spring flowers…

IMG_1115

We eventually made it and it was lovely, as usual.  The scenery is really something here in the spring, when our snow is gone, but the surrounding mountain ranges are still fully snow-capped.  Here, once again, are the Tobacco Roots to the west…

IMG_1117

So, two nice outings, with no worries of coming upon unsuspecting wildlife…I”m sure my cough had everything heading for the hills.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to (Almost) Back into the Land of the Living

  1. Gardengirl says:

    We drove through Montana once in July and stopped to play in the snow on the mountains…..in our shorts and t-shirts. I wouldn’t use that as a judge of the weather or seasons. Happy Hiking! and I hope you feel better soon. Your prolonged cough has been very common this year…4-6 weeks.

  2. Yes, that’s what I’ve heard. I’m still surprised that a bug can defy a healthy immune system for that long. Blah. Nice to hear that you’ve been through MT!

  3. Ingrid says:

    Perhaps a super bug is going hand in hand with the crazy weather. It’s always a joy to see those little signs of spring popping up…..flowers. Hope you feel better soon and finally rid yourself of that bug 🙂

  4. kiwiskan says:

    You have inspired me to just get out there and walk again, instead of wallowing in the remains of my flu!

Leave a Reply

