Ahh…now I get it.

IMG_1236

Having moved here last fall, I noticed this sign each time we walked the Drinking Horse trail, but it took till last week to understand its relevance.  This trail is coming alive with wildflowers and this post is a collection of photos of some of the beauties we’ve recently admired along this path and across the highway on the ol’M trail.  I’ve learned the names of a few.

Most noticably now, one can’t help but notice hillsides laden with this yellow beauty…

IMG_1218

…named balsam arrowroot.  It’s plentifulness is a delight on the trails.  Next we noticed…

IMG_1235

which, if I’m not mistaken, is larkspur.  A striking shade of purple.

We were absolutely smitten by a male blue grouse as he put on quite a strutting display for us (or, well, maybe for the female we finally spotted) at the top of the trail.  Look closely at the centre of this photo and you’ll spot the strutter in among the rocks…

IMG_1223

This walk took place last Sunday – Mother’s Day – and my husband and our eldest walked with me, and toted coffee and goodies along to make our rest even more pleasant.  MD was along, too, but here she’s out of sight, scouting behind the picnic table, looking for dropped muffin crumbs.  That little bichon nose can find the tiniest morsels.

IMG_1226

Enroute down we came across more varieties of spring flowers, including beautiful crocuses…

IMG_1228

…and a few that are still unnamed, but should you recognize them I’d be pleased to learn their names…

IMG_1227 IMG_1230 IMG_1231

I think I recognize this last one, but the name escapes me.

And, over on The M trail, flocks abounds…IMG_1237 IMG_1239

Fall and winter each displayed a special beauty in our adopted home state…and now spring is unfolding with truly big, brilliant blue skies set against vibrant colours.  Makes one wonder what summer will bring!

IMG_1244(This photo courtesy of our eldest.)

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ahh…now I get it.

  1. Annie's Place says:

    Lovely photos. What a great time of year to be outdoors. I am not sure of all the flower names but if you search the internet for Montana wildflowers you might be able to identify them 🙂

Leave a Reply

