Our long-awaited sunshine reveals…

After four days of rain – and by that I mean rain, not drizzles or showers, but steady rain or downpours, and having clouds down around our ears, the fog and clouds lifted early yesterday evening to reveal…snow on Baldy!  While we were awash in rain, rain, rain, it was snowing on the Bridger peaks.  Baldy is snow-covered, as is Sacajawea and every peak, named or unnamed.  Yeesh.  I guess we should expect this, living at this altitude, but to see those white peaks emerge was quite a shock.

Back up the M steep route this morning, with our eldest.  It’s a 35 minute walk, now, with which I’m pleased.  It was a bit of a slog this morning, though…felt like I was pulling my thighs through water.  Not sure why.  Couldn’t be this lingering…aack….aack…cough.

Oh, and against the white of Baldy yesterday I spotted a flock of a dozen or so pelicans riding a thermal.

Snow in May.  Pelicans in a mountain valley.  I’m just not getting this.

IMG_1254

A hillside of balsam arrowroot.  That, okay, I get that.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our long-awaited sunshine reveals…

  1. Lovely picture! Looking forward to more of what you discover. Not quite the same as where you are, perhaps, but in Oregon we also have snowy mountain peaks and blossoming beauties all at once. I love it!

  2. Forest So Green says:

    Beautiful hillside.

    I have decided to change my blog to a new name. I hope you will follow me here http://forestsogreen.wordpress.com

    Annie

Leave a Reply

