Early Evening Walk to The M

Sara and I decided to walk to The M before having supper last night, her to get a little more walking in and me to work on working off that irresistible blueberry pie in my previous post.

Turned out it was warmer than we thought and the slight breeze we began our walk with disappeared.  Not to be deterred, however, we carried sweatedly on and enjoyed a great view at The M, looking toward the Tobacco Root range in the west…IMG_1971

The path is bordered by chokecherry trees laden with ripe berries…

IMG_1973

I wish I could have captured an interested sight that was just too far away for my iPhone camera, but it caught my eye…a bunch of magpies sitting in a chokecherry tree, gorging on berries.  They looked like young birds and I wonder if they didn’t understand the effect of overindulging in ripe fruit and ended up dazed, under the tree!  I’ve heard of this happening with Bohemian waxwings, but I’ve not seen it.

Nice sunset on the way down…

IMG_1972

Nice walk with my nice daughter, to end a nice day.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Early Evening Walk to The M

  1. What is The M? Mountain? And chokeberries–are they good for people?

  2. Hi, Cynthia, The M is a huge “M” on the south end of the Bridger Mountains. It’s made from tons of rocks painted white and was built in the early 20th century by the Montana State University students. It’s amazing that the rocks are still so white…makes me wonder if a group maintains it. There’s another “M” in Missoula, MT, which represents the University of Montana, so the idea is not unique. Yes to the chokecherries, although they’re not really edible as they sit on the trees (too sour). You’ve probably heard of chokecherry jelly, made from juicing the berries. Jeff is after me to do this, but I’m a business owner and I have enough on my plate at the moment 🙂 Chokecherry wine is supposed to be good, too, and sauce, for ice cream. Mmmm…that is sounding good! Thanks for your interest, and all the best!

  3. linhartb says:

    Beautiful sunset!

  4. Thank you…and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

