Waaay After the Walks

Yeesh…not sure where the time has flown since our last walks, but I suppose it has to do with this being the busy season for my business and the holidays adding lots of things to do.  However, I wanted to post a brief recap of our two latest walks, to keep this walking journal up-to-date.

We had a brief outing along Drinking Horse Trail a few weeks ago…a nice day for a short walk…

IMG_2616

…and the snow was fresh…

IMG_2620

Then, just after Thanksgiving we decided to try a new trail.  We chose Triple Tree Trail, just south of Bozeman.  Nothing too exciting and not one we’ll rush back to walk again, but it was nice to give it a go.  Short, easy and very busy as it’s so close to town.

The route begins through a field alongside a subdivision, partners up with Limestone Creek and then enters the woods.

IMG_2630

IMG_2632

Ems and I enjoyed watching water and leaves flowing along under the surface ice as quickly as if there was no ice there, at all.

The trail splits once into the woods and becomes a loop to the meadow at the destination. Huge trees around…

IMG_2633

…not sure what’s up with that scary face.

The scenery improved as we gained some altitude…

IMG_2638

Overlooking the Gallatin Valley, The Tobacco Roots and the Bridgers (out of sight below, but to the right)…

IMG_2637

Looking back, coming around the final stretch before the open meadow and vista at the top…

IMG_2638

Once there, of course we dug into the food in our packs.  We take food everywhere we walk…doesn’t everyone?  Well, apparently not, because we overheard quite the talk about how walking is to walk off calories, not add them back on, from a gentleman who seemed to be hosting Thanksgiving company.  Ha!  He was eyeing our turkey sammies and really launched when we pulled out our homemade pumpkin pie complete with whipped cream! We saw his friends looking at our feast while trying to be polite 🙂  Yep, we made a coupla converts there and then…I bet their daypacks are now well-stocked!

IMG_2639

Pix at the top with the Bridgers in the background….Jeff…

IMG_2643

…and Ems, MD and me…

IMG_2642

We continued around the loop enroute down and while the woods were dark, there were a couple of openings with vistas…

IMG_2644

Emma spotted this tiny guy (gal?)…and there were oodles of snow fleas everywhere…

IMG_2647

So, not too exciting, but a nice place to enjoy pie 🙂

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

