Sticking To It

Wow…sure has been a long time since I’ve stopped by my own blog.  Guess that’s what happens when you’re running your own business – and from home.  It’s basically work, work, work all the time.  And, if there’s ever a moment when things are temporarily caught up (ha!) then there’s always work ahead that can be done.

Oh well.

We’ve managed a bit of walking time, along our usual haunts. After two nearly neck-breaking descents from The M over thick, sheer ice, Jeff and I invested in serious boots cleats.  Gone are the micro 1/4″ spikes (literally, as most of the spikes on both of our pairs simply disappeared over a very short time) and having made their debut last week are these serious puppies…

IMG_3205With these, if I were fast enough, I believe I could walk up a wall, across the ceiling and down the other side.

After our treacherous descents I still wasn’t up to trusting these to keep me from slipping, at least on our first outing duly attired.  That was until I watched a fellow walker take a steep, icy corner in his, just like ours, without slowing down a bit. Ok, then, I thought, so I marched over the same icy corner at the speed he’d been going.  Not so much as a slip…no jerking around trying to grab something, no graceless sliding, no falling…just absolutely pure grip. It’s hard to see in this pix, but along with multi chains the metal triangular, pointy spikes are about one-half inch in length.

Now, if I could remember the brand name of these fantastic cleats I could become an endorser for them, as well as my beloved Cytomax 🙂

My view along the Back 40 today…not too shabby…

IMG_3231That was just a spin around the block to keep ol’ Indy’s energy under control.  We have plans for a walk tomorrow in our supposed-to-be-lovely-weather, so I hope to have photos to share.

Until then, I leave you with this photo from a road trip to Yellowstone we took last weekend, when we saw a great variety of wildlife, including two wolves in the Lamar Valley.

Standard traffic jam at Yellowstone…

IMG_3200Days are getting longer…great trails ahead 🙂

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

