Truncated Bear Trap Canyon Walk

We had limited time today to be out of cellphone range, so while we decided to revisit the beautiful Bear Trap Canyon trail, we knew we wouldn’t be able to make the entire 3.5m in and then out within our time frame.  But, with the temperature in the high 40s, it was a day to choose a sunny path and be out as long as we could be. It was really an unbelievable day for January (sorry, my Winnipeg friends 🙂 ).

Turned out that lots of others had the same idea, but, unlike more local paths, even with lots of people this trail doesn’t feel crowded. Lots of fishermen in the highly regarded Madison river – yes – in the river, as they were fly-fishermen. There was an emergence of some sort of fly, so the word must have spread about that. Nice flocks of barrow’s goldeneyes and some common goldeneyes on the river, too.

There was magic in my breakfast – a breakfast that our oldest has convinced me I should be eating daily, which is a bowlful of cooked, old-fashioned oatmeal, a healthy splash of milk, a good dose of maple syrup to sweeten it just enough, a few raspberries, a handful of blueberries and at least 1/4c of sliced almonds.  I’ve been having that for over a week now, and it sure seems to help with my energy level.  Jeff turned around a number of times only to find me right on his heels.  Remember all those photos I have of Jeff and Indy up ahead of me on the trails?  Not today!

So, with lightness of step, we made it up the trail for 2.4m in just over an hour before deciding we’d better stop, have lunch and turn back.  Our lunch scenery was not too bad…looking upstream…

upstream…and, looking downstream…

IMG_3234…and, Jeff…enjoying the Madison…

Jeff along Bear Trap Canyon

I have a photo of Indy, too, but it’s of her begging for our lunch after she’d finished her’s, so I won’t publish it and thereby damage her online reputation of being a fierce Mountain Dog.

After this wonderful stop in the sun we scrambled back up the bank and along the trail…

IMG_3240…decided as we went along that we’ll come back on our first free weekend to try our hand at fishing.  Well, Jeff will.  I don’t like hooks, so I’ll bring a cushy sit-upon and a good book.

As an aside, does anyone have any suggestions for how to hold hair back in a wind? I’ve tried tons of things, but it’s always wiggling loose and getting in my eyes, which drives me crazy.  Other than reinstating the Pixie cut (which I loved, but wasn’t too popular around here), has anyone found any great clips or anything?  I’m not much of a hat wearer, so that’s pretty far down my list. Suggestions very welcome…thanks!

And, in case I’ve damaged MD’s reputation by mentioning that she’s a little beggar, here’s a photo of her in full defence mode, protecting us from the bison as they strolled, unhurriedly, past our vehicle in Yellowstone. Her growling was most impressive.

IMG_3185

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

