I Have Met Mr. Trouble

And his name is…Profiteroles.

Yep, mini cream puffs. I made a batch while company was here and while everyone did his/her part in eating them and keeping them away from my hips, eventually everyone left, leaving me with the leftovers.

Leftover profiteroles. What’s to do but eat them? Cream puffs, filled with homemade custard made with a real vanilla bean and smothered in homemade chocolate sauce. Well, we couldn’t let those go to waste, could we?

So, that was today’s lunch. Thank goodness they’re gone.

I’m only doing the steep route to The M these days, for walking, but it’s a good workout for me. Especially when I’m packing along profiteroles. And chocolate sauce.

Okay. Enough of that. If I keep on about profiteroles I’ll be back in my kitchen, apron on, whipping up another batch.

Add to that that I’ve borrowed from the library the most beautiful cookbook on French pastry. Oh me, oh my.

I worked away on business stuff most of today, occasionally glancing out the window and noticing that the sun, which we haven’t seen in about six years, was out in full force today. I assumed it’d soon cloud over so kept working, but around 5:00pm, with the sun still shining, MD and I decided to pack up the ol’work and head to The M.

My lunch time profiteroles and I enjoyed a nice, leisurely stroll along the steep route, stopping to gasp for air every few steps, but all-in-all, a great walk with the usual great view as a reward at the top…

IMG_3442

As you can see, we’re still dealing with a fair bit of snow – on April 1st. So different from last year and really, can’t the snow get the hint? Go, already!

Coming down the slower route I was delighted to see at least nine mule deer on the slopes…

IMG_3443

I know it’s hardly a thrill to see deer (I drove past a herd white-tailed deer of at least double this number en route home), but it’s nice to see wildlife in its natural habitat.

And, speaking of that…here’s the sign that greeted me as I finished the slower route…

IMG_3446

Good grief…why do I only notice these signs after my walks?

In hindsight, which is always 20:20, of course, a few trips to The M ago, Indy had replicated her behaviour from our walk so long ago, when a cougar was suspected to be in the area…her behaviour of dashing around with no particular direction in mind…I’m thinking she smelled the cougar then. Not today, that I noticed, so perhaps its moved off. The M is nothing short of a highway for pedestrians so no right-minded cougar would hang out there for long.

Unless, of course, it was thinking that a small, white, short-legged Mountain Dog would be pretty tasty…

IMG_3425

…almost as tasty as profiteroles.

Yeesh.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Have Met Mr. Trouble

  1. kiwiskan says:

    for goodness sake let me know next time you have left-over profiteroles!

Leave a Reply

