Sourdough Sidebar Trail

It was wonderful to be back on the trail today.

I had no “must-dos” today, so I was free to gather up my walking gear and join in with the group of Bozeman ladies who meet on Tuesdays for hiking. We ended up choosing the Sourdough Trail, but, true to the nature of this adventurous group, we opted for a side trail instead of staying on the well-used main trail.

Our side trail just so happened lead up straight up to the ridge, with nary a switchback in sight. We figured this was about a 1,400′ elevation gain in about two miles in, for a four-mile or so roundtrip total.

20151027_101013
Looking back after a bit of the climb. We were hiking up out of the Bozeman Creek valley, already above some low-lying clouds.

About halfway along we began to run into a light dusting of snow on the ground.

20151027_105516

As we were getting along, the hiker who’d encouraged us to take this side trail began to recount a bear encounter she and a friend had had along this trail last spring. With our fall weather being so warm, bears around here are still very active (did you happen to see the recent video that went viral of a black bear inside the Bozeman High School?). These gals are all amused at my unease at the mention of bears, but….I think I’m the sensible one! No bears today, however.

Up we went for about an hour or so, until we decided to have a snack break. I flushed a grouse…likely a ruffed grouse, at that point. The trail was well-used, but narrow…more like a game trail.

20151027_113635

We continued on, thinking that perhaps our trail would loop back and join the Sourdough Trail, but we came to an interesting rock outcrop which was the perfect spot for lunch.

20151027_115831

We each found a rock seat. I had the chance to try out my new sit-upon (the yellow pad)…a birthday gift from my husband. I’ll post the brand name sometime, as it was super. It has a reflective side that seemed to reflect my body heat back to me, which I appreciated as it was winterish sitting up there. I was thankful to have my thermos of tea and a wool sweater to add to my three layers. I’d also thrown a wool hat in my pack and what a difference it made…I’ll keep it with me now.

20151027_120823

Me, in the most layers I’ve ever worn for walking, plus hot tea. Gotta toughen up for winter.

We opted to retrace our steps as we really weren’t sure where we were. If anyone has an app to suggest that works in the wilderness…I’ve tried many and they’ve all lost their GPS connection along the trail…I’d appreciate hearing from you.

Most of our trail was through an open understory, overlaid with ancient and huge Douglas firs. This one would have quite a story to tell. It took three of us joining hands, to enclose it.

20151027_125310

20151027_125344

As always with this group, a good workout with great scenery and company.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sourdough Sidebar Trail

  1. jimfetig says:

    Everytime I read one of your entries, I miss the west!

Leave a Reply

