My Grand Adventure

With the pieces now coming together, it’s time to announce my grand adventure set for May..I’m part of the Ramblers Holidays Coast to Coast May walk, a 194 mile trek across northern England.

This walk has been on my “to walk” list for a couple of years, but first I had to decide how to close my business, which I’ve now completed. After nine or 10 years in business, it was time to move on to other endeavours.

And, what better endeavour than a long walk?

The walk begins in St Bees, on the west coast of England and ends at Robin Hoods Bay, on the east coast. It’s 18 days of hoofing along, with a day off in the middle.  The route will take us through five days of the Lake District, into the moors and then through the Yorkshire Dales.

This is the same company I travelled with a few years ago on my West Highland Way adventure. Readers of my blog back then, remembering the absolute fatigue I experienced, may wonder why I’ve chosen to try it all again. In answer to that, I’m really hoping that all of the prep I’ve been doing since mid-December will pay off. I know I’ll be tired at the end of each day, but I’m hoping not to the extent of fatigue.

This prep involves a rigorous gym workout every second day, with a decent walk, often in the mountains, on the off-gym days. I’ve been on some pretty good walks lately, although I haven’t posted any as I’m only now relearning how to post photos on my computer since our latest OS update. Yesterday was a 7.5 mile walk with the Montana Wilderness Association, up and along The Hogback, just south of Livingston. With my weekly walking group, we’ve walked the Lewis and Clark Cavern trail and the pretty Beartrap Canyon trail. Jeff and I, and often, MD, have covered the miles together lately, and, of course, there’s the steep route to The M when I’m on my own. I walk into town now and then, but the best motivation for a good walk that I’ve come up with lately is to aim for “The Wild Crumb,” a walk with delicious tea and desserts mid-stream. If I’m ever given a trail name I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s “Will Walk for Dessert.”

I’ve been adding substantially to my gear collection and I’ll write about my acquisitions in a future post. I’ve also been dealing with a new bout of plantar fasciitis, which my earlier readers may remember kicked up a fuss last time. It seems that every time I begin serious training this ailment kicks in. However, I’ve learned a few ways to tame the pain, and I’ll write about what’s working for me.

So, there you have it…my grand announcement of my next grand adventure! This is also a kick-off to a new decade for me and I’m thrilled that this old body seems to be accepting and responding to the prep and anticipation. It’s just one foot in front of the other, right?

Lewis and Clark Trail, walking down out of blizzard last week; Climbing the very rocky Hogback.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Grand Adventure

  1. wishartlane says:

    Glad to hear the info about your upcoming adventure and all of your prep!! It will be a great and challenging experience!

    Katherine and I also had plantar faciatis issues on the Camino and got boot inserts which helped immensely.

    Looking forward to future posts through the spring!!

    • Thanks, Rick and Katherine! Yes, lots of new experiences, for sure. PL is truly a thorn in a walker’s foot 🙂 Glad to hear you managed yours successfully. Mine’s okay, but seems determined to make the walk with me.

  2. linhartb says:

    Sounds very exciting!

Leave a Reply

