The Trails at Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park

With less than a month left before my Grand Adventure begins, I have to confess to  – so far – a minor case of the butterflies settling in. It’s the same old worry…have I done enough conditioning for this walk so that: A) I can keep us with wanderlust Brits I’m sure to be walking with, and B) so that I won’t feel exhausted each evening? In reality, I’m not sure what more I can be doing. My gym workout now includes pulling and dragging a tire and 45lb weight up and down the sidewalk outside the facility….that is exhausting.

I joined the Monday outing of our local walking group this week and we revisited the trails at Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park. I’d been there a few weeks ago when snow was still plentiful and we’d enjoyed our lunch under a shelter – in a blizzard. No sign of snow this time, though.

Our lunch scenery…

20160404_122442

This is a 4 mile climb with an elevation gain of about 1000′. This particular group of ladies is a group of fast walkers…we averaged 2.6mph, which is rather speedy for me. My thighs were pretty tired the next day, but an easy workout in the gym got them back into shape. I’m amazed by the results of stretching tired ol’ muscles and leading them through a gentle workout.

Coming down, after lunch…

20160327_174116

A few wildflowers are beginning to bravely show up. These are quick snaps…had to keep up with the group!

We got back to our cars just as our expected rain began. I stopped to make my usual trail notes at the gate to this Montana original and snapped this through a rainy windscreen…

20160404_141118

I’m planning a gear post shortly. I’ve really benefited by reading others’ posts about their gear and hope that my list will help others in the same way.

So…onward!

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman, Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Trails at Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park

  1. Mike says:

    You really do live in beautiful country! Good luck with the training; sounds like you’re working hard.

Leave a Reply

