Trail Creek Trail – Paradise Valley

Monday meant another BWAGs walk, and this time we opted for Trail Creek Trail in Paradise Valley…a new trail for me.

20160411_133805

We really should have done a vehicle key exchange so we could have continued a lot longer than we did…perhaps another time. For this outing, we walked about 5.5 miles return with only a 400′ elevation gain.

We began in a bit of mud, but soon climbed to a drier trail. This lasted for a little over a mile before we entered a pine/spruce forest where the trail was shaded and still snow and ice covered…

20160411_104200

…made for some tricky foot and hiking pole work. There were a number of trees down and across the trail, which added some leaping from and landing on ice. Fortunately, we all managed to keep our limbs intact, both going in and coming out.

We arrived at our turnaround point, which was a Forest Service cabin..so inviting! I hadn’t expected it, so this was a surprise to me. I noticed that there were no spikes on the windows (as there were on the FS cabin at Windy Pass…in an earlier post), so grizzlies must not be quite the problem at this site.

20160411_110643

20160411_115816

We had an early lunch and enjoyed some unexpected company…

20160411_111603

…and exquisite scenery…

20160411_130715

After this rest, we decided to continue on a little further as one of our walkers said there was a beautiful view just ahead. By then the snow had gotten a little softer and those of us with “substantial understanding” ended up doing a little post-holing. All worth it though, don’t you think?

20160411_121905

20160411_121857

And, just to get myself into the picture…

20160411_122025

Our trip back out went quickly and we all were happy to return to sunshine and a dry trail. We passed this Montana original…can you imagine the beauty of living here? My goodness.20160411_132902

Back to the beginning, after a pleasant outing. I wonder where we’ll go next week?20160411_133809

 

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

