England can Wait

Well, if you’ve been following my blog, you may be wondering why I haven’t been posting updates about my May Grand Adventure.

‘Fraid that all’s been changed. Changed permanently. As in…cancelled.

My mum, at 94, is ill and not doing so well. I have the privilege of sitting by her hospital bedside, daily, and trying to provide comfort. We have some good times together, laughing and talking about times gone by, while other times her illness takes over and we are just together – in time.

Mum loves dogs and so far we’ve managed to have three dogs stop by her bedside and soak up some patting. If anything can bring mum a smile, it’s the presence of a four-legged friend. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to bring dogs into hospitals to visit! Hospital-bound pet lovers so miss their pets.

It was a tough Mother’s Day. Still, there are memories to be made, even now.

And, hopefully, lots of time ahead for walking with these memories.

 

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to England can Wait

  1. I am sorry to hear this. Blessings on you and your Mum. So glad she’s been able to have those dogs visit

  2. jimfetig says:

    I lost my mom during my AT thru hike. Fortunately I got to spend her last 10 days with her laughing and talking and just being. Her loss knocked me off the trail for two months afterward. I’m hoping your time together will help forge lasting peace of mind. Trails can wait.

    • I’m sorry to hear this…I missed this when following your blog back then, or perhaps this happened before I came along. “Just being” is an apt description for some of our times together, other times are joyful. I’m thankful to be here with mum, and yes, trails can wait. Thanks.

      • jimfetig says:

        I don’t recall when you started following my hike, but I left the trail Jan. 6 at Marion, VA and returned March 6. I was too devastated to return right away in winter when every decision has to be right.

Leave a Reply

