Saying Goodbye

The closure of a chapter…

Mum passed away yesterday morning, after 94 years of  independent living and a brief hospitalization. My brother and I were able to be bedside and provide comfort during her last few days, and that is a time we treasure.

As a means of closure for myself, I’m picking up the last few days of the trip to England I had planned. My time will be spent in London, with perhaps a brief train trip to the south (mostly to enjoy the First Class service :), so not much countryside walking, but there’ll be another time for that.

It’ll feel wonderful to be out, stretching my legs and enjoying all life has to offer…what mum would wish for me, and, had she known you, for you,..and enjoying so many wonderful memories.

To living!

 

 

 

 

 

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saying Goodbye

  1. jimfetig says:

    I lost my mother while on my AT thru hike. Her last 10 days were a gift I was fortunate to share. I hope you have many pleasant memories to lend you comfort in the future.

    • Thank you, Jim…yes, a host of good memories. I’m glad it worked for you to spend that time w your mum. Very hard times, but our role of companionship and comfort was what was needed, for sure.

  2. I am sorry for your loss – but glad you could be there for her

  3. wishartlane says:

    Enjoy your trip to Europe Cora though a different version than the one you had planned. I hope you will be able to reschedule your hike to a future place and time and dedicate it to your Mum’s memory.

  4. My commiserations, (My Mum is 93}

  5. linhartb says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. My Mom just passed away on April 16th. I was able to make a trip back to see her in mid-March and I was glad I had the opportunity to spend a little time with her and say goodbye. It isn’t easy. My thoughts are with you.

  6. Thanks for your kind words. I’m sorry for your loss, too. It’s all a little lonelier, but I’m confident that our mothers would want us to carry on, smiling and remembering our many times together. My best wishes to you.

Leave a Reply

