Seaford and the Vanguard Way

My elder daughter and I enjoyed a day’s outing today to Seaford, a small resort town on the south coast of England. We took the Southern Line train out of London’s Victoria Station and changed trains at Lewes.

Our first mission was to locate caffeine and food and for that we stopped in at a tiny coffee shop on the way to the beach…no name as apparently I forgot to pick up a receipt. We had warm croissants, mine with ham and cheese and her’s vegetarian, a latte for her and black tea for me. I’ll mention that this was the first actual pot of tea that I’ve had since my arrival…since when has England begun serving tea with teabags in cups? My tea came with a timer and was perfect.

Fortified, we headed to the beach, which is a long stretch of smallish pebbles. We were attracted to the white cliffs to the East, so began walking that way and ended up climbing the cliffs along the Vanguard Way. The path soon led us to a beautiful view of the Seven Sisters white cliffs and we continued on for quite a way, eventually walking down steps to a cove. The beach there was full of beautiful shells…limpets, whelks, scallops, oysters..to name just those I recognized. We sat for a nice while, enjoying the scenery and finally snacking on Cadbury’s Dairy Milk and Cadbury’s Shortcake Snack,  and whomever concocted the latter has a real winner of a candy bar.

We headed back and enjoyed watching black-faced lambs running and playing. Once back to Seaford, we watched the car ferry from France, presumably, cross in front of us and pull in to the harbor just down the coast, and then it was time to eat again…we chose The Plough..fish n chips for me and a veggie tart and salad for our daughter. We walked through the graveyard of St. Leonard’s Church en route to the town’s charity shops, where we did our part for the local economy. We picked up cups of tea for the return train and waited at the station, to head back to London.

All in all, a lovely day outside of the city, beautiful scenery, delicious food, wonderful company and a nice eight mile walk along the coast of southern England.

Photos to follow once home.

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seaford and the Vanguard Way

  1. wishartlane says:

    Can imagine the salty scents of the ocean.!

  2. I must return to England. When Mark and I were in London a few years ago, I was visiting with a lady on the bus. When I told her we were just staying in London for our trip, she said “Going to London to get the feel of England is like us going to New York City to get the feel of the U.S.” Point taken and another trip needs to be made. Safe travels!

  3. Mike says:

    Sounds like a lovely day with Sarah

Leave a Reply

