BWAG-ing it to Grassy Mountain

I’ve been a Tuesday BWAG member forever, but the organization of the Monday group is very attractive.

Tuesdays, we meet, visit a bit, toss around walking ideas, eventually choose a destination, and off we go.

Monday’s group has the entire walking season planned. One can call up the schedule, peruse the walks for the day – differentiated into short, medium and long walks, along with the noted level of difficulty, and make one’s plans accordingly, including knowing how much water to pack.

So, with the long option’s destination for Monday past being Grassy Mountain in the Bangtail Mountains, a place I hadn’t yet been, my decision was easy…I was on board. This walk begins at the Brackett Creek parking lot in the Bangtails. It climbs 1,900′ to the peak of Grassy Mountain, with  just over 10 miles return. It’s a slow and steady climb through a number of switchbacks.

The panoramic views begin pretty quickly…

20160606_100251

…with view of the Bridger Mountains (from the East side). Here, Ross Peak is the more jagged peak in the center. The Bridger Ridge is the scene of the ridge run, held in August. This is a portion of what the winners cover within  a single-digit number of hours….how is that possible?

Carrying on, one essentially pops up onto the Bangtail Ridge, in a meadow, which opens up a view of the Shields Valley to the East…a surprising sight after a few miles in a lodgepole pine forest…

We stood around for a bit, had a snack and some decided that was enough for the day and headed back. The rest of us, along with a few converts, carried on, admiring the slopes of balsam arrowroot.

20160606_104413

Interestingly, the trail does not go to the peak of Grassy, so you have to cut off of the path at a certain point and walk through fields of wildflowers while aiming for the peak.

Once at the peak we each found a place to sit for lunch and, of all things, my cellphone rang. The reception was crystal clear, but it was a surprising sound to hear. Not everyone was impressed, rightly so.

20160606_122232

The Bridgers are featured in the photo, but from the peak of Grassy Mountain, along with the Bridgers, the Little Belts, Crazies, Absarokas, Gallatins, and Spanish Peaks are all in plain view. And, lots of wildflowers…

After our lunch we all chose our own path to rejoin the trail…20160606_124221

…and headed back down with a final view of the Bridgers…20160606_134137

A nice outing, albeit a hot day. The woods offered cool shade along the trail and true to form, it was windy at the peak, so much so that I wrapped myself in my light down jacket for just a bit. And, surprisingly to me, once back at the parking lot I was just about out of water and was completely out of my Cytomax electrolyte concoction…lesson learned for hiking with the BWAGs in our 2016 summer Montana heat.

 

 

 

 

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Around Bozeman, Walking and Hiking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BWAG-ing it to Grassy Mountain

  1. A well recorded trail

Leave a Reply

