A Revisit to History Rock

Today dawned cloudy and cool…a very welcome change from our recent run of hot weather, meaning what could we do but hit the trail? My husband awoke with the sniffles, but surely it was allergies, and what better remedy for a stuffy nose than a walk in the woods…right?

So, off we went, for a revisit to History Rock. The actual rock is a bit of an attraction, with all of the dates that are carved into it. Plus, it’s a short walk (about one mile each way) with a little climb (listed as 692′, but that seems more than it actually was).

We took MD along. Her days of walking in the heat are over, but today was perfect. Of course, as dogs do, she did, and as I was tending to the bag for that, Jeff said he saw something big and black run up the hill beside the meadow we were crossing at the beginning of the trail. He thought it was either a bear or a moose, but whichever it was, it disappeared eerily silently.

Our walk to the rock went smoothly, albeit with me looking over my shoulder on occasion, wondering where that unidentified creature had gone. Not a sign nor sound of it, though.

Between the two of us, we spotted wildflowers that I hadn’t noticed on my earlier BWAG walk, including horsetail (is that a “flower?”)…such an ancient plant…

20160611_121748

The wild clematis we’d spotted earlier was still in full-show…

…and here’s my attempt to photograph the nodding flowering head of the abundant glacier lily…

20160611_122549

…just a little creepy, maybe.

MD was quite at home on the trail…

20160611_121953

…and Jeff spent quite a bit of time birding, with great success, including calling in a western tanager (which I missed as I was already back at our car, happily munching down the trail mix I’d brought)…

20160611_124136

…after having taken a few more wildflower snaps…

The yellow flower I have yet to id. Any ideas? It was common…it’s just not one I recognize. Lots of shooting stars on display…what an intricate flower head.

And, here’s a case of “home is where you plant your roots”…

20160611_125039

I hope I think to come back in a few years and see how this ambitious and optimistic tree is making out.

Jeff’s sniffles turned out to be the beginnings of a cold and I was dreadfully tired later in the day. Not a good sign. However, we both enjoyed a supper of marinated and baked chicken thighs, steamed asparagus and a mixed salad, so our appetites are as healthy as ever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

