BWAG Walk: Return to Lava Lake

Should we ever feel guilty about taking so much time to walk and enjoy the challenges of the trails?

That thought crossed my mind as I was hastily packing up my gear this morning, planning to join the BWAGs for a Monday outing. I used to tidy up and clean our house every Monday…that was my routine. What happened to that?

The longer walk was scheduled to be up to Lava Lake, a walk that Jeff and I have done a number of times, but not yet this year and never at this time of year, and I wanted to see the lake in spring conditions. This rocky trail is 6.24 miles return, with 1,630′ of elevation gain.

The thing about this trail is that it starts out with a climb and just keeps climbing. I wrote about this ‘way back when…although with a few years of walking between then and now, its become a little easier. Still, today was humid and between that and the climb, I was soon down to my tank top. I’d forgotten to pack my Camelbak and had my Cytomax drink and my thermos of tea, but I was thankful that the driver of the car I was in didn’t mind stopping so I could pick up a bottle of water. I tucked that into the front of the waistband on my pack for easy access…a very handy spot and if I could have remembered that it was tucked in there, I wouldn’t have had to chase it down the trail every time I took off my pack. A good reason to remember my Camelbak.

Not many photos today as our usual leader, who likes to take photos and stops often, was away, so we were left with the mile-makers. I did manage to snap this…I have no idea of the name of this delicate flower, but I promise, right here, my friend who’s a botanist and reads this blog, that I’ll to try to figure this before I see you next month 🙂 BTW, the big leaf has nothing to do with the flower.

20160613_102604

Through the humidity and finally some rain, we arrived at the beautiful Lava Lake…

20160613_111129

…where we enjoyed our lunch.

This is a popular trail and we met lots of groups, including families with very young children, walking up. I was impressed with these young walkers and they sure have a lifetime of adventures ahead of them (if they can keep that guilt at bay).

The North end (I believe) of Lava Lake pours into Cascade Creek and runs down to the Gallatin River. The trail crosses Cascade Creek once. It was sure on the run today…

20160613_120758

…and wild lupins were on display just about everywhere along the trail…

20160613_121858

Sure beat vacuuming 🙂

 

About walksandrambles

My love of walking began in 2005, when, travelling with my Girl Scout troop to Switzerland, I joined a group of Norwegians for a day, to walk up Elsignenalp. I wasn't at all sure I could make it, but the guide was kind and through her encouragement, started out. It was an all-day affair for me and I was always the last one, but this didn't matter a bit...I'd found my new love! No photos exist for this...the camera went missing on a train...but I remember toasting myself with a cup of tea from my thermos at the top...it was a day of tough work and pure pleasure. If you walk, you know what I mean!
This entry was posted in Walking and Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

